Home > Curriculum, Montessori > Montessori Resources (and free ones too)

Montessori Resources (and free ones too)

In my search for the Montessori Curriculum, I first found Monteaco to be useful for the 3-6, 6-9 age range (the 9-12 link still goes to the 6-9 page).

Then I found Hainstock’s book for the early years and for the school years in Playcentre Library, got a hold of the early years from Kino, and Teach Me to do It Myself (Maya Pitamic) to boot. So we did some of the activities, but the equipment/materials I made got stuffed away in the kitchen or in boxes, so that was that. So now I’ve blocked off a section of my mum’s living room and of my own room to (hide) away the materials (ha..ha..). We have taken over my mum’s place, I’m not sure whether she’s horrified or pleased, but anyway, we have things to do 🙂

I then found the NAMC blog and website. Really extensive albums, but for a song! What I did was painstakingly opened all the TOC that was up for review and compiled them as an extensive to-do list of activities from 0-12 years of age, real worth the effort if I may say so myself, but I’m afraid putting it up might infringe copyright. There are also Montessori International Reasearch Department (monterssoriird.org) albums that are really extensive but without pics!
(not my thing, visual learner here). KarenTylers’ albums are cheaper, Karen Tyler’s I probably found around the same time as NAMC’s, but only entered my conciousness as something viable and worth using only recently. There were also other albums made by individuals which I skimmed, as I did with Karen Tyler’s that may be worth looking at. Recently I did consider buying the art surriculum from here: ,but we’ll see. As I said to a friend, I’m practically drowning in curriculum, so I’m putting a stop to curriculum buying for the moment.

Then I found infomontessori.org, what a blessing! They have whole albums for 3-9 year olds online! This I have in pdf form, though I forgot which free online software I used to do it, only after sending it to a friend did I realise I missed practically most of the culture section, so still working on that. The only thing is, even in pdf form the brown background is still there, so I decided against printing, since a whole lot of black ink will be wasted in doing so.  It’s just easier to browse in pdf than wait for things to load while online. Finally, there’s freemontessori, I felt super blessed having found this site, and even though I don’t know the person who have graciously shared his albums for 3-12 year olds (maybe it’s a higher range than that), it is the most useful free album I have found so far. The only thing it doesn’t have is the cultural album. An alternative is getting a free one by signing up at livingmontessori, and an e-mail will be sent with a free geography album, strictly speaking not a complete cultural album though,only the geography part, no zoology, botany, cosmic education etc.

So far that’s how I got into collecting montessori albums online. I would recommend both of Hainstock’s books mentioned above for quick easy reference, but the school years are out of print and thus hard to find (haven’t scored one myself).

One other Montessori resources such as 3part cards, and other free online materials generous parents,mostly mummies have put onlineto share, I shall add to below from time to time inshaAllah (God willing).

Categories: Curriculum, Montessori
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

